Scholastic books of the month – December

Enjoy getting lost in a book this December with some suggestions from Scholastic….

Age 3 to 4

The Grinny Granny Donkey by Craig Smith and Katz Cowley

“We all love a treat. We all like to laugh. And we all love our grannies! My choice for 3+ this month rolls all three into one great book. Meet The Grinny Granny Donkey, a BRAND NEW book from Craig Smith and Katz Cowley. They’re the bestselling team behind The Wonky Donkey, which became a smash hit and viral internet sensation after being read by another very special lady… the Scottish Granny!

Age 5 to 6

Cat Kid Comic Club by Dav Pilkey

“My pick of the month for December is real treat and absolute must for any Dog Man fans. Get ready for a different sort of reading experience in this all-new graphic novel series by bestselling author Dav Pilkey. Cat Kid Comic Club is a ground-breaking graphic novel that celebrates creativity and friendship, and is packed with his trademark humour and heart. This new book pushes the boundaries of visual storytelling with elements of comics, photography, painting, claymation and film animation to tell one cohesive story.

Age 7 to 8

Planet Omar: Incredible Rescue Mission by Zanib Mian and Nasaya Mafaridik

“For kids aged 7 and over, our December Book of the Month pick is Planet Omar: Incredible Rescue Mission. We have chosen it because this hilarious adventure is laugh-out-loud funny with bags of heart. From author Zanib Mian, it is ideal for fans of Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Nasaya Mafaridik’s fully integrated illustrations throughout keep it engaging and accessible to those of all abilities. Perfect to be read either independently or as read aloud for you and your child, and guarantees to have you both laughing! It is also so important for children to see a diverse range of characters in books, especially when it is characters they can see themselves reflected in, and the Planet Omar series are great examples of such books. Incredible Rescue Mission is the third in the series, but can be read as a standalone – and great if kids love it as there’s two more for them to get stuck into straight away!”

Age 9 to 10

Shoe Wars by Liz Pichon

“Our 9+ Book of the Month for December has to be Shoe Wars. We have chosen Liz Pichon’s new novel because it is perfect not only for core middle-grade readers but also for younger fans who love the fantastic and crazy illustrations and for older kids and grown-ups who are drawn into the weird and wonderful world of Shoe Town. The fully illustrated text also keeps any reluctant readers engaged, and the adventure keeps you rooting for the kids.

This new novel from the best-selling, award-winning author Liz Pichon is a standalone title in a whole new world separate from Tom Gates. Set in Shoe Town, big-bad-boss Wendy Wedge is obsessed with winning the Golden Shoe Award with the invention of flying shoes. But our star siblings Ruby and Bear are in a race against time to rescue the inventor – their dad! – and save the day. All the hilarity and crazy antics you would expect from Tom Gates, along with some super-cool gadgets, the baddest baddies and tons of shoes.”

Age 11+

Voices: Windrush Child by Benjamin Zephaniah

“Our December Book of the Month pick for 11+ is the heart-stopping adventureWindrush Child from Benjamin Zephaniah. I have chosen this book because it is essential reading on part of our country’s history and perfect for teaching children about inclusivity and diversity. In a powerful, moving account of family and fitting in, Zephaniah shows us what it was like to be a child of the Windrush generation. An invaluable story for any young reader, with the adventure and narrative non-fiction element keeping it engaging and entertaining as well as being historically accurate and educating. Windrush Child is the fifth book in the Voices series, which showcases some of the UK’s finest writers as they reflect on the authentic unsung stories of our past. Each book reads as a standalone, but great if kids love the series as there’s four more for them to get stuck into straight away!”

 

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.